Best synth program for a PC

a computer-related recording forum with user woes, how-to's and hints
Krebs
audio school

Best synth program for a PC

Post by Krebs » Thu Jul 24, 2003 8:46 pm

Ive been messing with programs from fruity loops to sonar for awhile but I havent found a really useful program. Im still very new to this sort of medium. Anyone have any recomendations for an easy to use program to create music/synth sounds?

stillafool
re-cappin' neve

Re: Best synth program for a PC

Post by stillafool » Thu Jul 24, 2003 11:28 pm

Cakewalk's project five looks pretty cool. Go to www.computersandmusic.com. There's a review of project five, and a comparison to Propellerhead's Reason.

dr grip
audio school

Post by dr grip » Fri Jul 25, 2003 6:38 am

I'd recommend ALL the Native Instruments Softsynths...

They run standalone, so you don't need a host app like Cubase or Cakewalk like you do with VSTis.

B4 - Hammond b3 softsynth
FM7 - Dead on emulation of the Yamaha DX7
Pro-53 - Best analog modeling sound yet...emulates the Prophet-5

Reaktor / ABsynth - These are extremely powerful synth engines that you can use to create totally new sounds...much more difficult to program but infinitely more deep. Absynth is the simpler of the 2. Reaktor has a lot of the same features as the MAC generative audio programs like MAX/MSP and the Cycling '74 stuff.

I'd also recommend audiomulch for getting started...you can get a free beta at www.audiomulch.com

The Lounge Lizard is a pretty slick emulation of a fender rhodes / wurlitzer sound...can't remember who makes it though...

JES
tinnitus

Post by JES » Fri Jul 25, 2003 7:00 am

And then, of course, there's Reason, which has a little of everything, kind of so-so presents, but lots of programmability.

Best,
--JES

ottokbre
deaf.

Post by ottokbre » Fri Jul 25, 2003 8:43 am

Native Instruments, and there is none higher!