Moderators: drumsound, tomb

I'm Painting Again
zen recordist

german physicist on cd-r longevity

Post by I'm Painting Again » Thu Jan 12, 2006 9:18 am

joel hamilton
zen recordist

Post by joel hamilton » Thu Jan 12, 2006 9:53 am

Everyone I know that does archiving for a living, including a good pal that is the chair of the archival committee at AES, says that redundancy is the best possible solution for archiving, along with multiple format backups.

Nothing more, nothing less. If you can put something on DAT that you want to keep around for 20 years, do that . Put in on a CD and a DVD as well. Put it on whatever you want, just make a few copies. Update as new formats emerge.

Nobody is going to all of a sudden go, "oh, crap! nobody uses PCM anymore! I guess all the recorded history up till now is useles!"

We just make new copies of data/audio as these things emerge.

Like putting old DAT's onto DVD, for instance. or old 1/4" tapes on CDR and a hard drive..

stinkpot
pushin' record

Post by stinkpot » Thu Jan 12, 2006 10:44 am

Does anyone know about the long term viability of flash memory? Obviously the USB interface may not be around forever, but I do like the idea of no moving parts or light sensitive chemicals.

Thoughts?

I'm Painting Again
zen recordist

Post by I'm Painting Again » Thu Jan 12, 2006 10:56 am

true..getting it on every format available is definitely the best safeguard for your media..its just crazy that our media is so fragile..we put so much work into it..I can understand how it would be important for someone to preserve that work..

Navajo sandpainters make those sand paintings as temporary structures..they think its the act of creating thats the important part..its so different from our western preservation fetish..I don't have much of a point its just the article got me thinking about that stuff..

I'm Painting Again
zen recordist

Post by I'm Painting Again » Thu Jan 12, 2006 11:27 am