How to bring out sparkle and crispness on Drum Set?

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

T-rex
resurrected

How to bring out sparkle and crispness on Drum Set?

Post by T-rex » Mon Aug 14, 2006 4:59 am

Ok, I am a drummer and I seem to have the opposite problem that many people have. Everyone seems to use darker or ribbon mics for drum overheads to tame the harshness of cymbals. I have an issue where my overheads sound too dark, the cymbals seem to lack shimmer and crispness to them. I have tried many different mic combos and some different room treatments but it seems to just be different shades of the same beast.

I need some advice do you guys think its the:

ROOM: I record in a small 11 x 13 x 8 ft room, carpet on floor, minimal foam treatment on walls and ceiling. In the future I plan on making some fiberglass traps to hang from the ceilign to deaden reflections and pulling up the carpet and putting down wooden floor. Just not in the budget right now. (It's my house so I can't just rip up the carpet and not refinish the floor etc.)

MICS: I like mics with character I have some AT4047's and MC012's. I love the 4047's they just have a great overall sound but I can't get the sparkle I want. The 012's are nice, a bit less cool but a bit more open. I have a second modded 219 on the way from Michael Joly. The first one sounds amazing as a room mic, so much so I don't know if I will use the pair as overheads. My plan was to be done buying mics for a while but I have thought seriously about a pair of Stapes if it would help my drum sound issue or even some cheap condensors. I had a pair of cheap MXL condensors that didn't sound good on anything except overheads and now I find myself missing them. Maybe i am addicted to the cheap chinese condensor sound or the lack of transformers?