Audio for Films- HELP

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

Glory_Morris
takin' a dinner break

Audio for Films- HELP

Post by Glory_Morris » Wed Mar 07, 2007 12:25 pm

I've been hired to operate the boom / record audio for a film here in Austin.
Honest truth-- I've never done anything like this before. I'm not sure what to expect in the way of problems. Anyone here have any experience they can share so I don't fuck this thing up?

ANYTHING will be appreciated. Thanks

Glory_Morris
takin' a dinner break

Post by Glory_Morris » Wed Mar 07, 2007 2:26 pm

Nothing?

So I've got two rental options-- the apparently "highly respected" Marantz PMD222 cassette field recorder, or the Tascam DA-P1 Portable Dat Recorder.

It's $55/week to rent the Tascam, but the battery life is only 2 hours. I guess I can get extra batteries too with the rental, but DAT tapes only hold that much audio too. Sounds costly.

I'm nervous about the idea of using anything less than the dat. Suggestions?

JGriffin
zen recordist

Post by JGriffin » Wed Mar 07, 2007 2:52 pm

I've used the DAP1 for lots of productions. Good machine. Get the extra batteries. Esp. if you're phantom-powering your mic, which eats up the batteries quicker. And it takes a couple hours to recharge the batteries once they're dead, which you have to do in the deck -- and you can't use the deck for recording while you're charging batteries. I'd definitely prefer to get the sound on DAT over cassette if I was the post audio guy on the film.

Make sure you work with the cameraman on framing--ask him how tightly he's framing each shot so you know how close to get the boom to the actors.

More later.
"Jeweller, you've failed. Jeweller."

"Lots of people are nostalgic for analog. I suspect they're people who never had to work with it." ? Brian Eno

All the DWLB music is at http://dwlb.bandcamp.com/

Glory_Morris
takin' a dinner break