Pro Tools - Is It Too Much Of A Crutch

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

akg414
re-cappin' neve

Pro Tools - Is It Too Much Of A Crutch

Post by akg414 » Tue Apr 17, 2007 11:40 am

After posting a question about Pro Tools and Mackie boards, I've just been thinking about the two platforms.

Are there possible hidden "dangers" lurking in the vast amount of so-called "tools" we have today.

Disclaimer: I AM a Pro Tools HD2 studio owner. I've used 4-tracks, ADATS, Cubase, Pro-Tools LE and now the big mama system.

BUT....

Does having a system like Pro Tools, that is supposed to make recording "better", actually make us worse at our craft?

Does automatic "recall" of a session really limit the number of times we must rely on our skills?

Does the ability to change anyhing-at-anytime only make us more indecisive?

Does the fact that these tools have solved all these so-called "problems", make us "rusty" in the problem-solving area?

Are these systems - sample-accurate, metromically-perfect, random-access, non-linear approach really sucking the life out of our songs as well as the "romance" of the recording process?

I know there are COUNTLESS great things that are offered by these systems, but was music (and the art of recording for that matter) suffering or not enjoyable?

What are your thoughts?
- Brad

JohnDavisNYC
ghost haunting audio students

Post by JohnDavisNYC » Tue Apr 17, 2007 12:02 pm

in some ways yes, in some ways no....

i HATE what 'in the box' has done for mixing... before I had a console I was forced to mix in the box, and I found it claustrophobic and tiring and made me question everything and rarely call it finished...