Jobs in post / Career advice

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

cyantologist
gettin' sounds

Jobs in post / Career advice

Post by cyantologist » Thu May 10, 2007 9:06 am

Sorry if this isn't the right forum..

I'm relatively new to recording. Not totally dumb, but I can't say that I have a lot of experience.

My question - I would love to make a career out of some aspect of recording. I was thinking something along the lines of post production or recording voice over stuff for tv or something along those lines. Basically, a job where I get to be around nice equipment and record or edit stuff, but still sort of have the 9-to-5 feeling.

Can anyone offer any input on how to go about making this a career or give me any other ideas for things i should consider? I know that a lot of people would discourage going to recording school in hopes of getting a job as an engineer at a studio, but I wonder if it would be different for post stuff since the employer would most likely be some random company with their own facility instead of a full-blown studio? And if so, can anyone recommend some decent schools?

Any input would really help. I'm 23 now and it's time to figure out what I want to be when I grow up.

mikeyc
buyin' gear

Post by mikeyc » Thu May 10, 2007 12:08 pm

You have a point about school looking better if you're applying for a corporate gig... I went to recording school years ago, and I got a corporate gig pretty much because I went to recording school. It was monkey work and nearly drove me insane before I left, but I did get a job.

cyantologist
gettin' sounds

Post by cyantologist » Thu May 10, 2007 12:39 pm