Cheap Line Conditioners = Degraded Sound?

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

punkrockdude
gettin' sounds

Cheap Line Conditioners = Degraded Sound?

Post by punkrockdude » Tue Dec 04, 2007 5:36 pm

I have a cheap Phonic PPC 9000E (european version) and I think it actually makes my recording i did last weekend flat/dull sounding. Anyone has any opinions or maybe you have had the same experience? Regards

punkrockdude
gettin' sounds

Post by punkrockdude » Wed Dec 05, 2007 8:03 am

bump

fossiltooth
carpal tunnel

Post by fossiltooth » Wed Dec 05, 2007 8:32 am

I have no experience with the unit you're talking about.

That said, I'd be inclined to look elsewhere for issues.

JohnDavisNYC
ghost haunting audio students

Post by JohnDavisNYC » Wed Dec 05, 2007 9:04 am

i know that good power = better sound... but i wouldn't blame the power for a bad recording.....

john
i like to make music with music and stuff and things.

http://www.thebunkerstudio.com/

r0t4ry
gettin' sounds

Re: Cheap Line Conditioners = Degraded Sound?

Post by r0t4ry » Wed Dec 05, 2007 9:08 am

punkrockdude wrote:I have a cheap Phonic PPC 9000E (european version) and I think it actually makes my recording i did last weekend flat/dull sounding. Anyone has any opinions or maybe you have had the same experience? Regards
NO.

punkrockdude
gettin' sounds

Post by punkrockdude » Wed Dec 05, 2007 12:33 pm

I recorded a band with this power conditioner last year and that recording never sound right. Not kicky and "crunchy" sounding like stuff I've made after that project without it. This time I took this one out of the closet and thought that I probably just imagined that it sounded dull the last time I used. But now when I have used it to power my preamps (Line Audio Design OMP) I feel once again that ther music is not lively sounding.

joel hamilton
zen recordist

Post by joel hamilton » Thu Dec 06, 2007 3:44 pm