Tips for my first live sound gig?

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

Mystic Steamship Co.
steve albini likes it

Tips for my first live sound gig?

Post by Mystic Steamship Co. » Tue Sep 09, 2008 12:37 pm

I got a gig running live sound at a local club yesterday and I am moderately stressed out about it because I'm going "train" tomorrow and the I'm working by myself at a big show on Saturday. I have lots of experience recording and even recording and setting up live concerts (mostly classical and jazz ), but I have never run sound at a rock venue. What are some general Do's and Don'ts for running live sound for rock bands?

bluesman
re-cappin' neve

Post by bluesman » Tue Sep 09, 2008 1:01 pm

Introduce yourself to the band with a smile and a firm handshake. Ask about their lineup, the number & type insturments, number of vox etc. Try to make them feel as comfortable as possible. Let them know up front that you will do everything within your power & the limitations of the house pa to get their point across to the audience. I have won over some pretty hard nosed acts in the first few minutes of conversation. After the show starts, Do not leave the sound booth while the act is performing. Maintain good eye contact with all band members during the entire performance, visual cues are all the band has during a performance & they will only be capable of quick gestures, make sure that you are observant & watch for those cues. Above all Have Fun! A good attitude is contageous & a kind word goes a long way. If the band can tell that you enjoy your job & are sincere about helping them, they will be more inclined to enjoy the gig themselves, and if the band is having fun, the crowd will, in all likelihood, follow suit. Bands will, in turn, tell their agent what a great time they had at your venue & word will spread.

enjoy!
"The digital future sucks the boils off my white ass." McHugh

ckeene