Show of Hands! Drummers?? or what do you play?

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

What's your main instrument?

Drums and/or Percussion
44%
Guitar and/or Bass
44%
Other Picked Strings (Mando, Banjo, Uke, etc.)
No votes
Bowed Strings (violin, viola, cello, etc.)
No votes
Keyboards
3%
Brass
2%
Woodwinds
2%
Vocals
No votes
I play the Laptop/Samples/Electronics
2%
I don't play an instrument. I'm just a damn good engineer/producer.
5%

Total votes: 62

DrummerMan
george martin

Show of Hands! Drummers?? or what do you play?

Post by DrummerMan » Wed Sep 10, 2008 1:21 am

I know we're all not drummers here, but it seems like there's alot of us.

I know this is a completely unimportant thread, but I've actually been curious. I'm looking for what you consider your MAIN instrument. I'm sure alot of us play alot of things, but if there's probably one (or maybe two) things that you really do best, or identify with most. That's what I'm looking for. (If you really need to vote for more than one axe, go ahead)

If I've somehow left out a category, forgive me.

I'm going to predict that drummers will be in the 70-80% range of this poll, but I could obviously be off. Any other predictions? I don't know you all as well as alot of you know each other, so whatthefuck do I know?!?! right?

Anyway...
Geoff Mann
composer | drummer | Los Angeles, CA

mjau
speech impediment

Post by mjau » Wed Sep 10, 2008 6:58 am

At one time, my main instrument was bass, and I was pretty good at it (in the John Entwhistle "I'm gonna make damn sure you notice the bass player in this song" sort of way).

Then I got interested in recording, which encourged me to get more interested in playing guitar. And as I got more into recording myself, I got more interested in playing keys...and, about a year ago, decided it was time I learned to play the drums halfway decently.