Just how freaking old am I??

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

CurtZHP
re-cappin' neve

Just how freaking old am I??

Post by CurtZHP » Wed Jan 14, 2009 1:13 pm

Today at work, I had an entirely new experience. My day job is engineer at a radio station. Several months ago, we hired a new production guy. He's in his early twenties. Pretty sharp, knows his stuff, knows the editing platform we use in his sleep. Today, he asked for my help with a small project he was handed.

Someone else at the station had recorded an interview and the interviewee wanted both a CD and cassette copy of the interview. New guy was asked to take care of that.

He asked me if I could show him how to record a cassette!

As God is my witness, the kid did not know how to do that. He knew what a cassette deck was, for sure. I asked him point blank, "Have you ever had any interaction with this technology?" He replied that he had only ever played a cassette tape. He had a blank cassette in his hand, and as he studied it, it occured to me that he didn't even know which way to load it into the machine (in other words, which side was the supply reel).

I know I'm not getting any younger, but DUDE!

(For the record, I was cool about it. I didn't ridicule him or anything like that. I very patiently explained how to do it and told him to call me if he had trouble.)
"TEMPUS FUGIT" the Novel -- Now Available!!
http://www.curtyengst.com

DrummerMan
george martin

Post by DrummerMan » Wed Jan 14, 2009 1:32 pm

wow. :shock:
Geoff Mann
composer | drummer | Los Angeles, CA

JGriffin
zen recordist

Post by JGriffin » Wed Jan 14, 2009 1:43 pm

Wow, I can see that being a kick in the pants. Good on you for not sticking it to the guy. Must've been tempting.