getting your foot in the door

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

k2zepprider
audio school

getting your foot in the door

Post by k2zepprider » Tue Dec 08, 2009 11:55 am

Hey Guys,

I'm a recent graduate of a state college 4 year audio-production program and am currently unemployed.

I am interested in interning, and i was wondering if anyone had any personal, and hopefully inspirational stories (and advice), about how they made it into the recording biz?

Much thanks.

aitikin
suffering 'studio suck'

Post by aitikin » Tue Dec 08, 2009 2:00 pm

Route 1:

Find a studio in the area you want to work in and talk to the owner, see if you can work something out as an intern.

Route 2:

Buy some gear, business cards (the absolutely most important piece of gear out there), and go to local shows and try to get someone who wants to do a demo.

I chose route 2, but whatever works for you.

If you go route 1, expect to do the bitch work and be happy to do it. Work hard and help out, be nice but don't speak when you're not supposed to. If you do that, they'll see that you really wanna work there and get you some ass. engineer time.

Oh, and don't expect to get paid for interning.
"It's not a recording studio without a lava lamp"
~Mark Rubel

"Don't meddle in the affairs of a patent dragon, for thou art tasty and good with ketchup." ~ohcrapitssteve

jmiller
steve albini likes it

Post by jmiller » Tue Dec 08, 2009 2:20 pm

Right now is a brutal time to break in to the traditional business. There are so many grads out there looking for work and the available positions are dwindling every day. But it's always been brutal in one way or another.