3m M23 "Model 23" recorder: History and Sound

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

Mystic Steamship Co.
steve albini likes it

3m M23 "Model 23" recorder: History and Sound

Post by Mystic Steamship Co. » Sun Nov 14, 2010 7:10 pm

I just bought a M23 8 track, it's an old machine; all discrete and transformer balanced, and very very large. I am also buying a spare transport and headstack, that also comes with a remote, and I am going to completely restore the machine. I can't wait.

This is going to be my main recorder for a small analog studio I am putting up. I have no experience with 3m Machines, I know they are unique and a bit quirky, but are considered some of the very best sounding recorders. I have read that the M23 was used by EMI on some Beatles recording sessions after the Studer J37 4 tracks.

Does anybody here have any experience with these machines, or any info about the history behind them. I am especially interested in the beatles connection. Any quirks, or problems I should be prepared for, or comments on the sound of these machines?

I will post pics and sound clips of the progress once I get everything up and running. It will probably be a while, I am super busy working a gig in Texas this month, but come december I am going to head home and get to fixing the pile of gear I need to finish.
Last edited by Mystic Steamship Co. on Sun Nov 14, 2010 7:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Mystic Steamship Co.
steve albini likes it

Post by Mystic Steamship Co. » Sun Nov 14, 2010 7:14 pm

Here's a picture I found of a really nice M23

calaverasgrandes
ghost haunting audio students

Post by calaverasgrandes » Sun Nov 14, 2010 9:21 pm

nice, as big as a washign machine and probably as many watts.
How is it esoteric? Does it have an odd tap path?
it looks kinda like it has one of those vertical tape head arrangements where the playback/rec heads are sideways.