Recommend DIY audio wire?

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

Jameson1895
audio school

Recommend DIY audio wire?

Post by Jameson1895 » Sat Sep 17, 2011 8:40 pm

Hey guys. I am pretty new to building equipment (and posting!). I am going to build a couple remap boxes, a couple DI's, and some pads. Which wire should I buy? I have found some Beldon spools, but want to make sure I am looking at the right stuff before I buy it. For messing around, I was just stripping bad xlr cables, and using that. Probably.....not good?

Beldon 9921 - 22agw
and or
9740 - 18agw

Any recommendations would be really helpful for the applications I have listed. Should I buy multiple gauges for different applications? I'd like to have the stuff around for when I need it.

Thanks guys.

ricercar.record
gettin' sounds

Post by ricercar.record » Sun Sep 18, 2011 2:13 pm

I just bought some 22 and 18 awg PTFE stranded wire in a bunch of different colors from steve slater over at apex jr. a couple weeks ago for diy projects. Great price and excellent customer service. I emailed with my order and received a call from him making sure I was getting exactly what I wanted, updated the order and it got to me super fast. Highly recommend buying from him.

use 18 awg for mains power, 22 awg for everything else.

The Scum
moves faders with mind

Post by The Scum » Sun Sep 18, 2011 2:27 pm

I like my wire made from copper.

I've got a dozen colors of 22 ga stranded on my workbench for general purpose usage. Mostly Alpha brand wire...looks equivalent to the Belden 9921 spec sheet. 22 is hefty enough that I can work with it without destroying it, but not so beefy that its hard to work with.

I've also got various other types of wire around...16 ga green for a heavier ground wire when called for, Kynar for PCB repairs, 30ga winding wire for making inductors...