Recording cassette gear for a beginner

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

traffic
audio school

Recording cassette gear for a beginner

Post by traffic » Sat Nov 05, 2011 1:26 am

Hello,

I have been lurking for a while now, you guys have got a great forum.

I have been playing guitar for a few years now, starting playing drums about 2-3 months ago and I am looking to start recording. I have digital equipment and lots of software programs but I am much more interested in recording with cassette tape.

I'd basically like some recommendations on equipment for a beginner. I will be recording by myself, just playing guitar/vocals/ drums trying to be creative. So some questions I would like to ask:

What type of cassette recorder?

A mixer?

Microphones?

I honestly do not know how much I should shell out for this stuff, for the recorder I was thinking 500-600 max (I saw some tascam recorders around that price). If you have any entry level recommendations or reviews for equipment that would be fantastic.

Sorry if I have missed a previous thread which outlines alot of this (or if most post is incorrect somehow, I am a beginner so be kind :P). If there is already one just put me in the right direction and I will head over.

Thanks in advance.

Matt C.
suffering 'studio suck'

Post by Matt C. » Sat Nov 05, 2011 8:32 am

I'd get a Tascam 424. I think a 414 would be okay too, but if i remember correctly the 424 has a more flexible EQ section (3 bands, sweepable mids) which is very helpful. if you need 8 tracks, i guess go with the Tascam 488. quality will suffer from squeezing 8 tracks onto a cassette but whatever.

I think you should be able to get either of these for way, way under your budget.

jgimbel
carpal tunnel

Post by jgimbel » Sat Nov 05, 2011 9:59 am