stereo miking of drums

general questions, comments and ideas about recording, audio, music, etc.
Groovedog
audio school graduate

stereo miking of drums

Post by Groovedog » Mon Sep 27, 2004 9:33 pm

I am relatively new to recording drums live. I was wondering if stereo overheads would have to be of the same type of microphone. I don't have two of the same and I was wondering if it is feasible to use 1 condensor and 1 dynamic? Any tips would be appreciated.

I'm Painting Again
zen recordist

Re: stereo miking of drums

Post by I'm Painting Again » Mon Sep 27, 2004 9:56 pm

you could use different mics and it could be cool..though it wont sound too natural..especially with a dyn and a cond..if you have the means to try it out..go for it and see if you like it..

EarlSlick
takin' a dinner break

Post by EarlSlick » Mon Sep 27, 2004 10:08 pm

If it's all you've got it has to work. Just keep trying different placements until you find something you like. This is a situation where you must experiment with placement. A good starting point is just to start with them about 5-8 feet away from the kit and 8-10 or so feet away from each other. Keep in mind that i am not a professional, but have gotten good results doing this with two Large Diapragm Condensers. So just give it a try with what you've got.

Bart

Devlars
re-cappin' neve

Post by Devlars » Tue Sep 28, 2004 11:16 am

Groovedog wrote:I am relatively new to recording drums live. I was wondering if stereo overheads would have to be of the same type of microphone. I don't have two of the same and I was wondering if it is feasible to use 1 condensor and 1 dynamic? Any tips would be appreciated.
Is it feasible...yes. Will it give you the best possible results...probably not though it is worth a try so get to it and try.