SOUND DESIGN

general questions, comments and ideas about recording, audio, music, etc.
XXF
audio school graduate

SOUND DESIGN

Post by XXF » Mon Nov 15, 2004 3:45 pm

What synths, software, sample libraries, etc. do people like using for sound design? Are there any "industry standards" for sound design? I'm new to it, and was curious as to what people use.

Mr. Dipity
carpal tunnel

Re: SOUND DESIGN

Post by Mr. Dipity » Mon Nov 15, 2004 4:05 pm

XXF wrote:What synths, software, sample libraries, etc. do people like using for sound design? Are there any "industry standards" for sound design? I'm new to it, and was curious as to what people use.
If there was an industry standard, then all sound design would sound the same :) The question you are asking is similar to asking 'what should I use to record?'

The answer depends on what you are trying to do. Are you talking about foley, special effects, or 'sparkle'?

There are some off the shelf solutions that one turns to when budget, and consequently time, are an issue - the Sound Ideas library, springs to mind. But without know what you are trying to do, this it's hard to make a suggestion.

JGriffin
zen recordist

Post by JGriffin » Mon Nov 15, 2004 4:08 pm

I use a bunch of sfx libraries from Hollywood Edge and Sound Ideas, plus I have a big library of sounds I've recorded myself. That's part of the key--since everyone has the same sfx libraries, you should also have something unique to offer.

Software: I use ProTools. I also have Reason and Acid and Vegas and some small programs like soundhack and Delay Llama (which I used A BUNCH on the "Alice in Wonderland" design I just did).

Synths: Besides the instruments in Reason and Sampletank (a plug in ProTools) I have a Juno 106 and Moog Rogue. I'm not a keyboard player so I never bought ots of synths. I generally drive the 106 and the softsynths with a Roland GK-2a guitar synth pickup, and sometimes use the sounds on the GR09 as well.