Laptop Recording Options...

general questions, comments and ideas about recording, audio, music, etc.
Icculus
audio school graduate

Laptop Recording Options...

Post by Icculus » Sat Aug 09, 2003 2:55 pm

I have a new laptop, and I am willing to spend about $2,000- Anyone got suggestions for purchases? I am fairly new to recording, but I will be starting Sound Engineering School in a month, so i want to be able to practice/ learn/ grow with some decent sounding recordings. Until now, I have just run a Tascam 424 MKIII into the Mic input on my CPU, and then tracked some SM57's with Acid 4.0. Burned to disk it sounded pretty good (for the cheap technique). I always ran into the problem of the mics being to sensitively loud for my purpose, so I want some good preamp/ mixing involved. I don't know if I should do everything outside of the computer (Buy a good mixer, premps, effects and run it simple to the laptop for recording), or do everything inside the computer (go with something like the Echo Layla and mix and touch up with computer programs.) Keep in mind that Acid 4.0 is the only program I have used, and I repeat the question- I have a laptop and $2,000 to get the best sounding sessions... GO!

Randall
pushin' record

Re: Laptop Recording Options...

Post by Randall » Sat Aug 09, 2003 6:07 pm

http://www.esi-pro.com/viewProduct.php?pid=8&page=1 gives you a choice,,cardbuss for laptop or PCI,,sorry to beat a dead horse but I think this thing is awsome
"tune that thing son"

provide86
alignin' 24-trk

Post by provide86 » Sat Aug 09, 2003 7:09 pm

just out of curiosity, where exactly are you going to school?
the only war that counts is the war against the imagination

countjoffrey
audio school

Post by countjoffrey » Sun Aug 10, 2003 4:59 am