know when to say "no!"

general questions, comments and ideas about recording, audio, music, etc.
dr.ona
takin' a dinner break

know when to say "no!"

Post by dr.ona » Mon Dec 08, 2003 7:35 pm

o.k...here's the deal.
i'm kinda new to recording/mixing songs. i'm used to doing my own stuff or maybe a quick rough draft of a song for the band i was in but now im working with an artist the im collaborating with and it is taking me weeks to do the editing and mixing and blah blah blah. my question is....when does a person stop over "anal"ysing a song and be happy with it? its getting to the point where i'll spend hours on a single little off timed note or a small noise spike that when its all done and over with...you wouldn't hear it in the mix anyways. at this rate my album will be done in 2023. i guess i subconsciously feel that i need to do this cause im spending lots of money on "new and improved" gear and if it isn't just right...well then...GUILT...or FAILURE. does this happen a lot with "up and coming" engineers/mixers/producers? is this a phase im in?

black mariah
buyin' gear

Re: know when to say "no!"

Post by black mariah » Mon Dec 08, 2003 9:42 pm

I subscribe to the grandmother theory. If my grandmother wouldn't notice it, it doesn't matter. :lol: Burn some CD's of what you have and have some friends listen to it. If they think it sounds good, GET IT OUT THE DOOR! It's just music. There's no reason to spend hours tweaking something a few thousandths of a second in either direction.
Heurh!

toddjal
gettin' sounds

Post by toddjal » Tue Dec 09, 2003 12:55 am

i do the same thing to such an extent that i don't have time to write new material. the worst is when you have this great idea for an origional sound and you keep tweeking and putting it off until some big label band does it on their new album before you even got yours out the door.

DON'T LET THIS HAPPEN TO YOU LIKE IT HAS HAPPENED SO MANY TIMES TO ME!!!!

signorMars
re-cappin' neve