Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

Jeff White
ghost haunting audio students

Adding a 1/4" input to a MAGNASYNC/MOVIOLA URS

Post by Jeff White » Fri Jul 21, 2006 10:05 am

I've been watching this all week and finally won it:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi ... %3AIT&rd=1

Now I need to add a 1/4" input jack to the thing. Should I do this myself or take it to someone? I have no experience working on tube gear.

Jeff
Last edited by Jeff White on Fri Jul 21, 2006 2:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

I'm Painting Again
zen recordist

Post by I'm Painting Again » Fri Jul 21, 2006 10:13 am

shouldn't be too hard..you sure it doesn't have one already?..either way those things are awesome..

Marc Alan Goodman
george martin

Post by Marc Alan Goodman » Fri Jul 21, 2006 12:44 pm

I wired one up myself recently and it wasn't that bad. Josh DiJoseph (jDj on here) did one recently as well and I bet he did a much more professional job than I did so you should ask him about it.

-marc

JdJ
pushin' record

Post by JdJ » Sat Jul 22, 2006 12:06 pm

Howdy-

I ended up going the Marc route which involved removing the weirdo single-pin power jack to use for the 1/4" in jack.

First thing is to carefully remove the 4 feet so you can pull chassis from the case.

BE CAREFUL WHERE YOU PUT YOUR FINGERS!! Despite both of my Moviolas having discharge resistors across the caps, you can easily zap yourself into a coffin- no joke... So follow the typical tube precautions. Keep one hand behind your back etc and make sure those caps are discharged!

First I snipped the resistor lead (or weird spring thing in the older one) that connects the single pin power supply where it connects to the tube/cap (I can't remeber which off hand). This will allow you to remove the jack so you can install a 1/4".