Drummer available in Houston

wing
on a wing and a prayer

Drummer available in Houston

Post by wing » Tue Jun 10, 2003 8:26 pm

My name is Jonathan Wing. I'm available in the Houston area for drums/percussion. I have practically 18 years experience in rockin the drums, love/can do all styles, and am constantly inventing new creative rhythms that go outside the standard basic drum beat norm (though i can do that just as well). I have influences ranging from Art Blakey, Jimmy Chamberlain (definitely a favorite!), Colm O'Ciosoig (MBV), Simone Pace (blonde redhead), Budgie (siouxsie & the banshees), Jason Hammel (mates of state), Buddy Rich, John Bonham, Roger Taylor (queen), Louie Bellson, Chris Frantz (talking heads, tom tom club), and a few others... Though, I don't really follow other drummers, I just do what I want and what sounds good to me. I think the best thing one can ever do is follow after and invent their own style and what not, and never stick to particular genres. As I said I love all styles and am capable of any of them. Also able to play percussion keyboards, any percussion instruments (anything from bongos to timpanis), as well as drum machines & samplers which I can surely sequence a really fresh beat.

Right now I have an old Sonor Phonics Mahogony kit, 7 piece. Mostly sabian cymbals. The kit is real bassy and real warm. Though now it's my preference to minimalize, and I feel more comfortable actually with 3-4 pieces and 2-3 cymbals. Soon I hope to invest in a classic jazz kit that is much smaller and easy to carry around. I also have a Sonor Force 1000 kit stored away in the closet, which is a basic entry level Sonor. And I also have various percussion instruments, bongos & timbales among other things.

check the email link in my profile or in the buttons below (not written out to avoid spam and bots). I haven't really had the chance to do this on a professional level, so rates would be negotiable according to what is right and fair to you.