Amp that goes both ways

general questions, comments and ideas about recording, audio, music, etc.
thrdgll
pluggin' in mics

Amp that goes both ways

Post by thrdgll » Sat Feb 28, 2004 8:22 pm

Hey, guys! I'm brand new here, so forgive me if this topic has been worked over already. I'm a no-budget home recording hobbyist with very little technical knowledge. I'm looking to get a cheap amp that will give me a fairly decent recorded sound for both bass and guitar. My gear comes mostly from pawn shops and scrap heaps, so I'm just trying to get a general idea of what to keep an eye out for.

thanks!

Rick Hunter
dead but not forgotten

Re: Amp that goes both ways

Post by Rick Hunter » Sat Feb 28, 2004 8:37 pm

Vox Pathfinder. Best deal ever. Do a search on the tapeop search. Its pretty cool.

Justin

clamp
alignin' 24-trk

Post by clamp » Sat Feb 28, 2004 11:55 pm

I've worked in new and used music retail for 7 and half years and have recorded many a bass and guitar track. Here's my non-profit advice.

For bass: If you're pawn savy keep your eye out for any solid-state with a 15" speaker: brands Ampeg, Crate, Kustom, Peavey, Sunn, Fender (BXR Models), Yamaha, etc. Try any freak brand they'll let you and jugde with the ears (I just bought an ELK guitar amp).

For guitar: Lately all my guitar recording has been direct. Not through modelers but cheap Crate tube preamps and expensive Peavey compressors. Keep your eye out for old Sovteks (Mig 50 heads) and Ampeg (Vintage 30 loaded) cabs.

To simplify: Buy a Roland JC-120 and mic it.

My overall message is buy two great cheap amps but if you require an amp to cover your ass buy a JC-120.

thunderboy
buyin' a studio

Post by thunderboy » Sun Feb 29, 2004 12:08 am

Bass records great through a Princeton (tho not too cheap...hmmm.)

Maybe a Champ?

Does size/power matter here?

jt
"most toreadors worth a damn are circumcized."
- Discs of Tron

thrdgll
pluggin' in mics

Post by thrdgll » Sun Feb 29, 2004 8:45 pm