"Re-amping" without mics?

a computer-related recording forum with user woes, how-to's and hints
YOUR KONG
buyin' a studio

"Re-amping" without mics?

Post by YOUR KONG » Fri Jul 11, 2003 7:23 am

I've read a little about re-amping, but I'm new to all this recording stuff.

I just ordered a little Behringer tube pre-amp, and it occurred to me that I could use this for a little "re-amping" of my own. Say I have a .wav file of a drum loop I want to dirty up. Can I run a 1/4" out from my soundcard into my pre-amp, and then run a 1/4" of that back to my soundcard? Is that safe? Will running an out from my soundcard and then back in add lots fo noise? (not the tasty tube pre-amp kind of noise)

Thanks,
Clueless Joe

les_chupacabra
ass engineer

Re: "Re-amping" without mics?

Post by les_chupacabra » Fri Jul 11, 2003 7:33 am

I'm a bit clueless about it too but it sounds like an impedance matching device to get stuff from line level into high impedance inputs like amps and stompboxes. Basically a DI box in reverse.

http://www.reamp.com

YOUR KONG
buyin' a studio

Post by YOUR KONG » Fri Jul 11, 2003 9:41 am

Yeah, that's the one I had seen advertised in Tapeop. I'm using keys, though...aren't keyboard 1/4 outs and headphones already "line level"?

les_chupacabra
ass engineer

Post by les_chupacabra » Fri Jul 11, 2003 9:54 am

Keyboards are line level, yeah.

The idea, as I understand it, would be to record something direct - guitar, keyboard, whatever - maybe late at night. Come back a couple days later - send audio from your DAW to an output, through a reamp, into a stompbox or guitar amp (something that's expecting a high impedance source - your soundcards output will be low imedance) - mic the amp up and record that. It should help you interface something like a Keyboard to a guitar amp or stompbox (maybe as an effect) too since the KB will be providing a low impedance output and the amp/stompbox will be expecting a high impedance input.