Hey Ladies- Does this ever happen to you???

i*persevere
pluggin' in mics

Hey Ladies- Does this ever happen to you???

Post by i*persevere » Wed Oct 20, 2004 8:09 pm

I just graduated from recording school a year ago with an Audio Engineering degree. I have a lot of experience and I was just offered the RECEPTIONIST job. Is this a common thing? I am feeling like the sting of sexism here. Am I the only one? Anyone out there have any advice on breaking through the gender thing? I would be very grateful for some words of wisdom.

hearnoevil
ass engineer

Re: Hey Ladies- Does this ever happen to you???

Post by hearnoevil » Thu Oct 21, 2004 10:00 am

Oh honey- You're not the only one.
I graduated about 2 years ago as one of the top in my class & got the highest grade in the class on one of my 2 finals. I'm currently a studio assistant (in a part of the audio field that doesn't even really interest me), I have held paying, internship, freelance, & full-time jobs in post, recording/mixing, mastering, music production, & a bunch of other random things & I'm still not getting the same offers as guys I know that have little or no experience or education. I send out at least 5 resumes a day to various studios and consistently get blown off. I've been offered internships & admin positions when I applied at places that offered engineering or more technical or creative positions. I assumed it would be tough because there aren't too many women in this field, but I didn't know it would be this tough. It sucks, but we have to just bust our asses twice as hard as the guys to prove ourselves- it'll be worth it!
My Boss Thinks I'm An Ass Kisser

i*persevere
pluggin' in mics

Post by i*persevere » Thu Oct 21, 2004 2:12 pm