My first real full band recording... bash it please.

Skrasms
gettin' sounds

My first real full band recording... bash it please.

Post by Skrasms » Tue Jan 25, 2005 8:24 pm

I've generally been more into sound processing and design stuff than actual recording, but I finally put my equipment into recording and mixing for a friend's band. This is my first time recording more than one instrument at a time, and also my first time mixing, so keep that in mind. Please give me feedback on it, especially criticism. I thought it turned out decent for a demo, and the band was really happy with it, but I'd obviously like to get better. We had about 6 hours total for 7 songs, including recording+setup, and then I spent a long time on mixing learning how compression helped things fit together better, stand out more, etc. No EQ was used... at all... unless you consider the cable capacitance of 100 foot mic cable runs as a low pass filter. The band was recorded all at once and then vocal overdubs were done later.

3 mp3's are Take a Hike, Everybody's Girl, and Have Love Will Travel

Some things I'll point out really quick:
The band is 4 high school kids playing blues-y rock.
I used their amps (solid state 50 watt Fender and an equivalent power Marshall)
The weird muffled vocal sound in the background of Have Love Will Travel was the scratch vocals (they badly wanted to use a PA to have vocals while they played, and then decided to change the verse order up for vocal overdubs so it didn't mask well).
The kick drum sounds kinda floppy to me...
The vocalist moving around by the mic sounds really obvious to me (proximity effect), but he thought it wasn't bad enough to warrant a redo.

Help me with my weaknesses please.
Thanks.

dougo
pushin' record

Re: My first real full band recording... bash it please.

Post by dougo » Wed Jan 26, 2005 8:45 am