RegisterRegister
Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages
Log inLog in
FAQ  -  SEARCH  -  MEMBERS  -  FAVORITES  -  PROFILE
MCI JH
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.   printer-friendly view    Tape Op Message Board Forum Index -> 5/03-2/05: General Recording
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mcijh
alignin' 24-trk


Joined: 26 Jun 2003
Posts: 60
Location: Nashville, Tn.

PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2005 8:48 pm    Post subject: MCI JH Reply with quote

Since we're on the downhill side of TapeOpCon 2K5, I thaught I'd get all the Q's out of the way so I'd have time to flirt while in New Orleans. So, Any MCI/Sony Pro audio Q's, now is the time, I may be distracted in June.

SS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
JohnDavisNYC
ghost haunting audio students


Joined: 03 Oct 2003
Posts: 3035
Location: crooklyn, ny

PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2005 9:38 pm    Post subject: Re: MCI JH Reply with quote

the take up motor in my JH110a died... what should i do?

john
_________________
i like to make music with music and stuff and things.

http://www.thebunkerstudio.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ladewd
suffering 'studio suck'


Joined: 07 May 2003
Posts: 499
Location: La La Land

PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2005 10:02 pm    Post subject: Re: MCI JH Reply with quote

I have a MXP3056 tha hums like a banshee. Could it be because I live on top of an ancient Native American burial ground?

CA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mcijh
alignin' 24-trk


Joined: 26 Jun 2003
Posts: 60
Location: Nashville, Tn.

PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2005 10:13 pm    Post subject: Re: MCI JH Reply with quote

John: You blew a 2N3055 in the Chimney. ( take the fan assy. out (= four, push-in, 1\4 turn left, knurled knobs). Take the heatsink/s out and measure the 2N3055 pass xstr's. Replace as necessarry.

LADewd: I think I wrote a tech memo on that. Research the Archives.

SS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
mcijh
alignin' 24-trk


Joined: 26 Jun 2003
Posts: 60
Location: Nashville, Tn.

PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2005 10:19 pm    Post subject: Re: MCI JH Reply with quote

P.S. L.A. Dude, Is there an Aentaenae (Sp.) Farm next to that Native American Holy Place?

SS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
psychicoctopus
buyin' a studio


Joined: 14 May 2003
Posts: 890
Location: Austin, TX

PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2005 11:14 pm    Post subject: Re: MCI JH Reply with quote

JH-24: when punching out, all of the channels don't switch from Rec to Sync at once. they switch in sort of slightly delayed, random cluster of events. what could be going on here to make the punch-outs lazy?
_________________
Armed with seven rounds of space doo-doo pistols
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ladewd
suffering 'studio suck'


Joined: 07 May 2003
Posts: 499
Location: La La Land

PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2005 11:24 pm    Post subject: Re: MCI JH Reply with quote

Quote:
LADewd: I think I wrote a tech memo on that. Research the Archives


I read it and it says Sony will buy back the console. Am I too late? Very Happy


Quote:
P.S. L.A. Dude, Is there an Aentaenae (Sp.) Farm next to that Native American Holy Place?


Nah, but there are a lot of windmills. Would that cause it if they're all rotating at 60RPM?

CA
Quote:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jerrymac
gimme a little kick & snare


Joined: 07 May 2003
Posts: 94
Location: near boston

PostPosted: Mon Feb 14, 2005 1:31 am    Post subject: Re: MCI JH Reply with quote

JH-16, speed control problems. At first I got around it by switching it into variable speed and leaving the knob in the center, but then the machine still started to get a little erratic, sometimes jumping to "really fast" while playing. Seems to have more problems at 15ips than at 30ips.

PLL board? Any specifics tricks to watch out for?

Also sometimes makes an odd "scritch-a-scritch-a..." from the capstan area. It's a replacement capstan (I'm assuming, as it's a ceramic shaft and the collar that hold sit in place is all gouged up)

Thanks.

-jerry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nacho459
re-cappin' neve
http://www.459audio.com/rebb.jpg

Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 748
Location: Pasadena USA

PostPosted: Mon Feb 14, 2005 5:32 am    Post subject: Re: MCI JH Reply with quote

Dear Mr. MCI JH,

I want a 16 trk head stack for my JH24. Where can I find one for like $100?



Ok, I know that price is a little far fetched but I could sure us one.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address
ladewd
suffering 'studio suck'


Joined: 07 May 2003
Posts: 499
Location: La La Land

PostPosted: Mon Feb 14, 2005 10:04 am    Post subject: Re: MCI JH Reply with quote

jerrymac,

Here I am screwing around with SS and I should be helping you guys as well.

It sounds like your capstan motor is breaking phase. It could be a PLL problem. Have you wiggled the PLL on the motherboard to see if its a connector issue? Do you have an oscilloscope lying around to troubleshoot it? Maybe Mr. mci jh will have some more suggestions to try.

The PLL theory of operation is pretty simple. You have a crystal providing a frequency to lock to. Depending on the speed selected, the clock is divided down to 19.2 kHz and 9.6 kHz for 30ips and 15ips respectively. At the same time the capstan motor has a pulse generator on it, (an optical disk and some photocells) which tell the machine what speed the capstan is turning. These two signals are compared and corrections are made to the capstan to lock it to the 19.2 or 9.6 kHz.

So your problems can be either in the PLL or the photocell signal from the capstan motor, or the connections between everything.

You didn't mention whether or not you have an AL2 or AL3. In the AL3, the varispeed signal can be generated in the remote, so you can control it from there. If you're set in fixed, the machine only looks at the internal PLL reference and not the VCO in the remote. Thats assuming the PLL is working correctly.

CA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lifeintime
gettin' sounds


Joined: 12 Aug 2004
Posts: 103
Location: South Bend, Indiana

PostPosted: Mon Feb 14, 2005 10:50 am    Post subject: Re: MCI JH Reply with quote

ladewd wrote:
I have a MXP3056 tha hums like a banshee. Could it be because I live on top of an ancient Native American burial ground?

CA


Banshees scream, not hum. Ask any Irishman.

I have said for the last 20 years that the Arizona Cardinals suck because Sun Devil stadium is an ancient Hohokam burial site.
_________________
What? No Gravy???

soundcloud.com/LifeInTimeMusic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mcijh
alignin' 24-trk


Joined: 26 Jun 2003
Posts: 60
Location: Nashville, Tn.

PostPosted: Mon Feb 14, 2005 12:25 pm    Post subject: Re: MCI JH Reply with quote

Psychic: Are you sure it's a JH24, and not JH16 audio? The randomness is do to relay timing, and the r/c timing of the command. So you have a mix of slower -v- faster relays, and slower -v- faster relay enable commands.

To minimize the problem, match the relays to the channels, replace some relays, replace capacitors on the enable line.

Dewd: Yes you've waited too long, and it depends on which way the wind blows. And, thanks for the assist.

jerrymac: ladewd is exactly right, could be molex/mother board pin connections, could be ic socket connection (oxidized op amps in oxidized sockets, could be bad op-amps or caps, could be weak photocells or other capstan tach problem, could be bearings in the motor, bad reel motor tension adjustment / pinch roller pressure. It could be you have more than one ref. freq. on at the same time.

Nacho: Get in line. Multiply that number by 20 +.......Try E-bay.

SS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
nacho459
re-cappin' neve
http://www.459audio.com/rebb.jpg

Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 748
Location: Pasadena USA

PostPosted: Mon Feb 14, 2005 6:40 pm    Post subject: Re: MCI JH Reply with quote

Here's an Idea. I want to track drums on a JH16 16trk at one studio w/ a sweet room and then take the tracks home and play them on my JH24.

Would it be possible to take the JH16 16 track head stack once I've recorded everything and put it on my JH24? I hear you can swap out the headstacks on MCI machines fairly easily without having to do a lot of mechanical adjustments, but I'm not sure is JH16 and JH24 head stacks are compatible. I've never swapped heads, and I'm not sure how to do it, I guess this falls into the RTFM catagory.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address
drumsound
zen recordist


Joined: 02 Jun 2004
Posts: 6366
Location: Bloomington IL

PostPosted: Mon Feb 14, 2005 7:55 pm    Post subject: Re: MCI JH Reply with quote

Is there a way to have a track stay in input for the player to rehearse to the tape and not record? I did this all the time on my 3M but the JH24 switches to sync as soon as I hit play, whick is normal, but I'd like to over-ride it sometimes.

And if you find 16-track heads for $100...I'll pay double!
_________________
Tony
Oxide Lounge Recording
Follow me on TWITTER!
SARA QUAH PLEDGE PAGE
WWRTBD?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
John Noll
buyin' gear


Joined: 29 Jan 2004
Posts: 519
Location: NJ

PostPosted: Mon Feb 14, 2005 8:09 pm    Post subject: Re: MCI JH Reply with quote

[quote="drumsound"]Is there a way to have a track stay in input for the player to rehearse to the tape and not record? I did this all the time on my 3M but the JH24 switches to sync as soon as I hit play, whick is normal, but I'd like to over-ride it sometimes.

And if you find 16-track heads for $100...I'll pay double![/quote]

Tony,
Simultaneously depress the input and sync buttons on the ALIII. This will keep the armed tracks in input without recording while in play mode.
_________________
http://retromedia.net/
http://www.facebook.com/RetromediaSoundStudios
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.   printer-friendly view    Tape Op Message Board Forum Index -> 5/03-2/05: General Recording All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum