Looking for a space in brooklyn

Regional activities, relevant news, job openings, studio searches, local beer nights (not a forum to plug the new album you just worked on)

Moderator: drumsound

ECBRules
audio school

Looking for a space in brooklyn

Post by ECBRules » Tue Nov 01, 2005 11:54 am

Hello I am a music producer from Washington DC.

I have had a great recording studio for the last 6 years and the rent was dirt cheap. I just found out they are bulldozing my house, and instead of continuing here in DC, I have decided to relocate to brooklyn / East Williamsburg / Bushwick / Lower East Side etc...

I am looking for a space to put my HD accel Rig as well as a Job and a place to live or an all 3 in one option like a cheap loft to rent. If anyone has any ideas I would greatly appreciate any help.

Regards,
keny

http://www.eastcoastbands.com

Girl Toes
carpal tunnel

Post by Girl Toes » Tue Nov 01, 2005 12:15 pm

The best thing is to just get to the city, find a decent but not great sublet where your not on a lease. Then ask everybody you meet. You'll rarely find a good deal on Craig's list is fine for finding something quick, but to get a good place really its all connections.

That being said, you might check out my building. PM me.

tret-lo
gettin' sounds

Post by tret-lo » Tue Nov 01, 2005 12:56 pm

After looking for over a year, I finally found a good place to work on music in Brooklyn: a disused loft / balcony in a 100 year old church. The loft actually overlooks the main hall of the church, so we get this absolutely enormous reverb. Seriously. My drums have never sounded so good. (Unfotunately, there's no way to turn it off, but beggars can't be choosers.) Plus it is six blocks from my apartment.

Granted this type of situation is not for everyone, but I guess this relates to your post because I found it on craigslist after faithfully waiting for months for the right thing to come along. It is definitely possible. Craigslist is amazing in New York.