When is OPTO compression not suitable?

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

dumbangel
pushin' record

When is OPTO compression not suitable?

Post by dumbangel » Sat Nov 05, 2005 5:00 am

(thanks for tomb 4)

I bought a Distressor recently and so far I've used the opto mode a lot as I find it very discrete and faster to set, but since I'm no expert on the subtleties of compression, I wonder on what sources that type of compression isn't really suitable? Your experience?

joel hamilton
zen recordist

Post by joel hamilton » Sat Nov 05, 2005 6:56 am

I kept thinking how to answer this...

There is no better or worse time for any technique. YOU have to decide. I could come up with a theoretical, outlandish scenario where I personally would not compress. This scenario STILL would not be specific to the opto mode on a specific piece of gear.

The evil in me wanted to say that the answer to your question is this:

If you ask a question like this, the answer to "when" is never....

But i realized it may just be thewording of it and not your actual sentiment....

drumsound
zen recordist

Post by drumsound » Sat Nov 05, 2005 10:14 am

Opto compression is in general a little slower and smoother. It's very useful and works on a lot of sources. Sometimes I want the compressor to 'grab' quicker and more obviously. Then I go for a different type of compressor. For instance the bass in an up-tempo pop song. I might not want the nice smoothing of an opto, I might want a lot of grab and some pump from a VCA compressor. On drum sub parallel I tend to want something fast and kind of 'sharp,' so an opto won't cut it. Though on a mid to slow tempo song a nice gooey opto on the drum parallel can sound great.

soundguy
ghost haunting audio students

Post by soundguy » Sat Nov 05, 2005 12:32 pm

optical compression isnt suitable when it ceases to make what you plugged into it sound better, period.