How long do you guys take setting up for recording?

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

centurymantra
buyin' a studio

How long do you guys take setting up for recording?

Post by centurymantra » Fri Nov 18, 2005 6:44 am

I'm just curious about this as it's been a point of debate a couple of times with someone I'm currently playing music with. I'm not a seasoned engineer by any measure and am still in the learning/experimentation stage, tough I've come quite a long way at this point. Due to this, I perhaps am not Mr. Speedy on the set-up process, but I still like to be particular about getting mics and gear set up with care and attention to best of my ability. This guy is simply a musician, very serious about his craft and the experience of playing music and has very little patience for dealing with spending time on preparation for recording. On the same note, he really WANTS to be recording the process, his songs, etc. Just the other night, I was doing some set up to do a basic recording/demo of a song and he got in my face a bit during discussion about how I'd "already spent too much time setting up drums" at one point. I thought I was doing pretty well, having spent, maybe 20 minutes starting from scratch on room mics, kick drum, overheads, snare and bass DI. This also really leaves no room for trying different mics, pres, etc., something I would like to allow for if possible. That being said, there definitely have been times where I feel like I've spent too much time on getting things situated in various sessions with different groups and one can run the risk of seeing everyone get burnt out before playing has even begun. I also don't have a conveniently wired studio like what you would find in a professional setting with XLR wall plates, patch bays, etc. I'm pretty sure that, in a serious recording session, any pro studio or home recordist will commonly spend an hour or two on set-up, if