imac g5 vs power mac g5

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

hang the blessed dj
audio school graduate

imac g5 vs power mac g5

Post by hang the blessed dj » Sun Nov 20, 2005 7:14 pm

hey there.
i'm looking into getting either the imac g5 or the power mac g5.
i'm pretty new to macs so i'm not sure which one is best for me.
right now i am running the digi001, but eventually i would like to get pro tools hd
which computer do you think would be better for my situtation?
anyone have any ideas?
thanks
-christopher

pulse_divider
steve albini likes it

Post by pulse_divider » Sun Nov 20, 2005 8:09 pm

I don't use my computer for recording, but isn't a Protools HD system based on PCI cards?

The Imac is a great computer for the price and is very powerful, but is only expandable via firewire or USB. There's no reason you couldn't have a super powerful recording computer from an Imac, but you couldn't run an HD system on it as far as I know.

If you have the $$$ to spend on an HD system then the price difference between an Imac and a Power Mac shouldn't be too much of an issue. But since technology advances very rapidly, you might want to buy an Imac now so that when you invest in an HD system you can get whatever the current top of the line Powermac is, as it will undoubtedly be higher spec'ed than one you buy right now.

winky dinglehoffer
buyin' a studio

Post by winky dinglehoffer » Sun Nov 20, 2005 8:40 pm

One big problem with the imac G5 for audio is that the CPU fan is on your desk--and when it gets busy it's fairly loud.

Tom

chris harris
speech impediment

Post by chris harris » Sun Nov 20, 2005 8:53 pm

the digi001 is pci based too. it won't work with an iMac.

alignin' 24-trk

Post by 01100011 » Sun Nov 20, 2005 10:58 pm

HD system won't work with an imac either.

hang the blessed dj
audio school graduate

Post by hang the blessed dj » Mon Nov 21, 2005 2:52 am

yeah, thanks guys.