so the band i'm recording wants me to be their sound-guy

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

digital eagle audio
pushin' record

so the band i'm recording wants me to be their sound-guy

Post by digital eagle audio » Fri Dec 16, 2005 12:19 pm

which, first of all is such a fucking huge compliment. they are only my second gig ever, so that kind of encouragement means the world to me.
the trouble is, and i was totally up front with them, that i've never done live sound before, and i'm kind of terrified. they are cool with that, and want me to learn so that i can do it for them. i know the tape-op boards don't really deal with that too much, but i'm sure a few of you guys are knowledgeable on the subject. i got a copy of ear-wise to practice with, and i'm making arrangements with a local club to let me try and mix the band there on an off night.
what other steps should i be taking to prepare?
thanks!

joelpatterson
carpal tunnel

Post by joelpatterson » Sat Dec 17, 2005 2:27 am

Congrats! You must have a winning way about you. As far as the actual task of mixing a live band, you just need to become familiar with their extremes, like how much they keep cranking up the amps, for one thing. How much effects on the vocals is appropriate. How much drum reinforcement you need.

Experience is probably the only teacher, once you do it for a bit, you'll develop an instinct for the 45 things you control and how each affects the others.

Kind of a cliche to say this is a thankless task--you do everything right and you're perfectly invisible, you do one thing wrong and you're an idiot. The most common way I made an idiot of myself is thinking there was some improvement to be achieved, and started jiggling dials. This jiggling is disorienting for the audience, even if you can make it sound better. Best to leave it alone it it's working. Good luck!
Mountaintop Studios
~The Peak of Perfection~