having a song re-mixed

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

yourmomsp
alignin' 24-trk

having a song re-mixed

Post by yourmomsp » Wed Jan 18, 2006 2:05 pm

I'm an artist who just had an album mixed by an engineer. He did a great job in general, but there are 2 songs that I'm thinking I want something different out of. I'm thinking of either asking him to remix the songs or asking a competitor of him to mix the songs. From an artist perspective, I have an intuition that his comptetitor might be able to mix these particular two songs to my liking more so because the songs have a different feel than the other songs on the album. At the same time, I don't want to offend the original engineer because I would like to work with him on future projects. Any advice for handling this situation? Thanks.

TheStevens
pushin' record

Post by TheStevens » Wed Jan 18, 2006 2:49 pm

While I might be slightly offended initially as an engineer in that situation, the fact that you only wanted two of the songs remixed and not the whole album clearly shows that you're happy with the majority of his/her work. So I wouldn't feel too bad about going to another engineer for two songs.

John Jeffers
buyin' a studio

Post by John Jeffers » Wed Jan 18, 2006 3:11 pm

If the guy is a pro, you shouldn't have to worry about it. He may be offended, but even if he is, he shouldn't let it have a negative impact on how he works with you in the future. It's your music, not his. You should be happy with it, and if that means having it mixed by someone else, do it.

trodden
on a wing and a prayer

Post by trodden » Wed Jan 18, 2006 7:42 pm