Assistant engineers: who needs 'em?

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

knobtwirler
suffering 'studio suck'

Assistant engineers: who needs 'em?

Post by knobtwirler » Wed Jan 25, 2006 8:57 pm

I just have to get the forum's opinions on this one from the perspective of what happened to me today. I do work in studios in NYC, and there are some where I've been on staff as either an intern, assistant engineer, or engineer. Currently I'm a staff engineer and have been for years at this particular spot, and I've been "put" on a multiple-day tracking session. First day comes and goes, great. Second day, the studio manager tells me there will be no assistant on the session and I will have to simply deal with it. Now, if I had no assistant on the first day, my stress levels would have been greatly amplified, something I don't think is good unless my job title included the word Masochist. Without getting into too many details at this point, I'm thinking that the manager doesn't seem to think an assistant engineer is integral to a session paying full rate for our services, or I am fully capable of doing two people's jobs at the same time while getting paid for only one. I'll save the meaty bits and say that I refused the job, and based this decision solely on my position in the situation, which could have set a bad precedent for any future repeat situations. What say you, and what questions do you have to clarify your understanding of this before I end up writing a studio psychology compendium?

knobtwirler
suffering 'studio suck'

Assistant schmassistant

Post by knobtwirler » Thu Jan 26, 2006 2:58 pm

I guess assistant engineers aren't really needed and I'm just spoiled for expecting one.

seaneldon
pushin' record

Post by seaneldon » Tue Feb 07, 2006 2:37 am