Is Recording School a "must have gone to" for inte

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

Autodidact
gettin' sounds

Is Recording School a "must have gone to" for inte

Post by Autodidact » Thu Jan 26, 2006 3:52 pm

For all you guys that have recording studios or are engineers that use interns:

Do your interns (or potential interns) have to have gone to recording school?

No more "old school" ways of interning as a complete newbie (or just a basic idea of audio) to learn the trade?

Let me give an example:

when i was a little younger, i wanted to be a mechanic (race engine builder and what not), and there was the "go to school" route, or the "apprentice at a shop" and learn hands on approach.

lots of shops i talked to said they would prefer someone with ZERO experience than someone that learned "someone elses way" of doing things...cause that would mean "repgrogramming" them to work and think the wanted to

i tried both, and was learning WAY more the "hands on" way...

so what is your guys' opinions on this?

thanx
Last edited by Autodidact on Thu Jan 26, 2006 5:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Formerly known as 'Perranfulo'

Why do people find the need to use the word "anal" in day to day conversation?

knobtwirler
suffering 'studio suck'

Post by knobtwirler » Thu Jan 26, 2006 4:42 pm