Audix D6 in the studio. What are your thoughts?

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

weallfailed
audio school graduate

Audix D6 in the studio. What are your thoughts?

Post by weallfailed » Sun Feb 05, 2006 1:55 pm

I heard one used in a live setting and i sounded pretty good. Seemed like one of those pre-curved kick drums mics that already have the boost around 3-5k and cut around 400hz.

I'm thinking about buying one for recording, but I'm a tad worried it might be too colored. Has anyoine used one in the studio?

mjau
speech impediment

Post by mjau » Sun Feb 05, 2006 2:56 pm

I was a fly on the wall for an R&B / Gospel session yesterday, and the kick was mic'ed with a D6 inside and an at4047 outside. The combo worked really well together, I thought - and this was on a 22" kick.

gauze
alignin' 24-trk

Post by gauze » Sun Feb 05, 2006 3:10 pm

I am a newbie at recording but I think I know what sounds good and I have used it at 2 sessions and it needs very little adjustment to sound fat and punchy and people think it sounds great, mission accomplished.

John Jeffers
buyin' a studio

Post by John Jeffers » Sun Feb 05, 2006 4:23 pm

Great kick mic for rock. Yep, it's pretty colored. Check out page 2 of this PDF for the frequency response curve.

bannerj
re-cappin' neve

Post by bannerj » Sun Feb 05, 2006 5:04 pm

too colored for the session last weekend. I had it just inside the bass drum with the front head off and then two pzms side by side four or five inches just outside of the front of the drum that sound great blended with the D6. I even got some nice transients from the pzms that I am going to leave in. That was for a more indie rock band. They have really crappy drums though. I wonder what it would sound like with some real drums.

llamaj
takin' a dinner break

Post by llamaj » Sun Feb 05, 2006 9:58 pm

i use one. i wanted something different than the old standards