management vs. no management

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

knobtwirler
suffering 'studio suck'

management vs. no management

Post by knobtwirler » Tue Feb 07, 2006 12:39 am

I am at a crossroads in my studio career. I started working to learn how to record and mix because I was a musician and didn't want a real job. Here I am almost 10 years later, able to record and mix, and I am sick of working on rap, r&b, gospel, and MTV pop, all genres of music I hated before and must admit I still hate now and refuse to torture myself through unless it is the right situation. So do I get a manager to get the right work for me and handle all the money issues I can't stand dealing with or do I just pretend that I love these forms of music and be a big phony and mix music I hate? Please share your experiences, advice, and pros and cons. I have people asking for my number to mix hip-hop, gospel, rap, and I reluctantly give it out hoping they never call me. If that's not the epitome of career dysfuncion I don't know what is. If I knew I was going to hate my job I would have gotten some college degree and searched for a six figure salary.
P.S. I know something is wrong because I've never heard of a rock engineer who wished he could get into rap and r&b.

Professor
ghost haunting audio students

Post by Professor » Tue Feb 07, 2006 5:43 pm

Wow, I can't say can relate to this in any way but itis still kind of fascinating if also a bit unfortunate.
They say that if you take your passion and make it your career you'll never work a day of your life.