Spring reverb recommendation

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

ghost trance
audio school graduate

Spring reverb recommendation

Post by ghost trance » Tue Feb 28, 2006 5:26 pm

Hello, this is my first post after discovering the message board. I am a longtime "free" subscriber.

As I have no experience with electronics and cannot build my own, I am looking to purchase a spring reverb unit. Though I am very interested in a '63 Fender RI unit, the Vermona Retubeverb, and the Demeter Real Reverb, they are out of my range (under 300 USD) as a student.

Any [analogue] recommendations?

jv
pushin' record

Post by jv » Tue Feb 28, 2006 5:43 pm

The PAIA hot springs reverb is nice:
http://www.paia.com/hotsprgs.htm
It is a kit, but maybe you could find a pre-built one on ebay, or pay somebody to build it for you (it's a pretty simple circuit).

I'm Painting Again
zen recordist

Post by I'm Painting Again » Tue Feb 28, 2006 5:51 pm

the 63 fender is cool but I dont like it that much..I'm sure its $$$ too..I have a pioneer sr-101 tube spring (1960's i think) that I got from someone on here for $30 that I love..both that and the roland re-201 space echo beat the fender for guitar reverb sound for my last record..the re-201 you might be able to get for a little more than 300$..and I swear it will make you so happy to have one..its got to be my favorite thing ever invented..

the 101's go for about 100-150$ on ebay..I dont think you will be unhappy if you pick one up because its a great vintage sounding mechanical device..its a one trick pony but its a quality trick..actually you can use it with no verb to add "insert geigh phat toob adjective here" to your signal..I've done it..no verb on a line level guitar signal = awesome for making guitar float in a mix..

I'd giver a look to see if it floats your guitar boat..

n.b. they are old so buyer beware of lemons..

johnny7
suffering 'studio suck'