getting a foot in the door

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

workshed
suffering 'studio suck'

getting a foot in the door

Post by workshed » Wed Apr 12, 2006 1:26 pm

I've been slowly trying to get clients for my home studio, which I hope to make into a real studio over the next few years. A big part of this has been trying to get as much experience as I can when I have the time.

One of my clients (my day job is as a graphic designer/web developer) records a lot of voiceovers for some web-based presentations he does. I told him i'd love to be involved in the process for that and get that business from him when I can.

Today he called and wants me to come along to the very, very nice studio he usually has the voiceovers recorded at and learn the rooms and gear on a session next week so I can eventually come there and engineer future voiceovers for him. Part of this process is meeting the owner, etc. then watching the contract engineer and learning the ropes of the studio. This is also good because if I don't screw the opportunity up, I could get on their list of contractor engineers and have access to a great space to record bands and my projects at.

Anyhow, I'm really excited, but I also really don't want to mess this up. Anyone have any pointers (humorous and serious ones are welcome here) so I don't annoy/alienate/scare the working pros at this place? Good questions to ask? Things not to say to them?

We'll be in the B room with the Oram console and the PT HD3 system.

My PT is pretty rusty and I only had experience with LE, so I am guessing that will be the biggest hurdle for me, other than learning how everything is routed/patched, etc.

Thanks in advance.

-Bret

SaneMan
takin' a dinner break

Post by SaneMan » Wed Apr 12, 2006 3:10 pm