Mercedes 1981 300TD Wagon and biodiesel

Feedback on the current issue, ideas for articles, questions about Tape Op

Moderators: TapeOpJohn, TapeOpLarry

Don Hearl
audio school

Mercedes 1981 300TD Wagon and biodiesel

Post by Don Hearl » Thu Jul 20, 2006 7:00 pm

I enjoyed the review of the new (old) Mercedes, and was particularly interested in your running the car on biodiesel. I work in the biodiesel/ethanol industry and consult to major and small producers alike. This is a very exciting time as the consumer will hopefully have more choices for fuels in the near future. :)

Let me clear up some inaccuracies re: biodiesel. No biodiesel is 99.9% pure vegatable oil. Biodiesel is a mixture of triglyceride containing oil mixed with some alcohol: methanol or ethanol. Typically the ratio of mixture is 100 kg of oil (pressed from soybeans, rapeseeds or animal based oils, etc) + 10 kg methanol, to produce 100 kg of biodiesel and 10 kg of glycerin. This is simplistic, but the general prediction. Biodiesel is actually a methyl ester and has combustion properties equal or better to traditional diesel (i.e. high cetane rating). The great thing about it is that the fuel has excellent lubricity and no sulfur content. This makes it a perfect fuel additive to petroluem diesel (at 2%+). Kudos to you JB, for seeking out the purest biodiesel for your car.

Biodiesel is an extremely good solvent and will attack butyl rubber hoses typically found in automobiles produced beofre 1983. Most folks are ok with stock hoses after '83, but check your car. Viton is the recommened material for hoses in cars running biodiesel. Biodiesel will also clean out a fuel system, so changing the fuel filter after switching to biodiesel is key to prevent plugging.

The chemical additives (if any) are to prevent gelling of the biodiesel in cooler temperatures, not to make the fuel more viscous.

Biodiesel is here to stay. There are currently 81 plant sites in the US, but Europe is way ahead of us.