Training for a Career In Recording

general questions, comments and ideas about recording, audio, music, etc.
lysdexic
audio school

Training for a Career In Recording

Post by lysdexic » Fri Sep 12, 2003 12:29 pm

Hi all,

I've been working in a career as a software developer for almost 10 years now. I've accomplished most of the goals I originally set out to achieve and I don't find myself inspired to set new goals and continue in this career. I've got a small project studio that I've been using to produce my own music with tools like Reason and Acid for the last few years; though I'm still very much an amateur, learning at a snail's pace. During this time I've been increasingly interested in pursuing a career in recording.

I realize that, in the long run, experience is the more important than completing some sort of training program but I'd like to keep my current job before I switch over to an entry level recording job (intern, gofor, etc). My goal is to obtain some sort of formal education and build the beginnings of a portfolio before I make the career change. I'd like to know, from those who are working as recording engineers, how you'd go about obtaining training if you were to start over. Would you go for a bachelor's degree or a specialized program like Musician's Institute in Los Angeles or something else entirely? Any tips on obtaining an education in recording are greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance for your suggestions...

ps. I did a search figuring this has been asked before, but I didn't find anything. A pointer to another thread discussing this topic would be welcome.

TapeOpLarry
TapeOp Admin
TapeOp Admin

Re: Training for a Career In Recording

Post by TapeOpLarry » Sun Sep 14, 2003 12:39 am

After a long summer making no money running a studio my advice is to stick with a job that pays...

eh91311
buyin' a studio

Post by eh91311 » Sun Sep 14, 2003 12:44 am