Deciding My Future...

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

AudioJunky
takin' a dinner break

Deciding My Future...

Post by AudioJunky » Mon Nov 13, 2006 6:00 pm

Hi everyone-

I'm looking for some advice on some next steps that I should be making in order to drastically change my work day. Currently I am 28, living in Los Angeles. When my time is free, I spend 95% of it playing saxophone and writing music in my home studio. I've learned a lot building this studio myself, and I've done small projects for friends and myself. They include anything from music for film, songwriters, and more.

On the flipside, I make 95% of my living as a high school music teacher working full time. It eats up a majority of my time and leaves little room for me to do things like taking on bigger projects, finding gigs for my playing, practicing, etc. etc. etc. I have my credential, a master's degree.. and going back to teaching in the distant future would definitely be on the table if it was something that I had to do. I feel that I am still young enough and in a good spot to take this risk.

I've pretty much decided that my full time gig as a teacher needs to go. I plan on possibly finding part time work next year so that I can do more of what I love- playing/producing. A great accomplishment for me would be teaching part time and doing more of those things, but that is not the end result that I only want.