Another Plate Reverb

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

mrmiller
audio school graduate

Another Plate Reverb

Post by mrmiller » Wed Jan 17, 2007 8:18 pm

Hey all. I'm planning on building myself a plate reverb, and am looking for some input as per specs. I've read up a bunch on it, and learned more than I could possibly care to know about steel sheet in the process. Anyway, the dilemma I'm facing right now has to do with the sheet itself. As far as a driver, I'm using the Vidsonix Ghost as of now--$20 purchase, so I guess I wouldn't feel too horrible if it doesn't work out.

Anyway, the plate on the other hand is a little more expensive and a lot less flexible.

The spec I was originally aiming for was a 28 gauge (.016") x 48"x96" sheet of cold rolled steel, full hard temper if possible. This is approximately what was used in the original EMT 140, as well as others. The same specs (as I understand) was used for the Ecoplate, except it used stainless steel instead. The TapeOp article makes mention of the difference between stainless and regular: apparently some think stainless sounds more tinny, while others claim it's density leads to a smoother, more consistent sound.

This all factors into a decision that I need to make about the plate. I've spent days looking online for small quantity retailers and found approximately four. None have the specs above precisely. For most, the maximum gauge is 24 (.02"). Also, for those that do have 28, the maximum size is 36"x48", less than half the size of what I was planning to build. As well, most do not offer full hard temper. This is also true of the 30+ stores I called in the yellow pages.

The closest spec I have found is 28ga x 36" x 96" full hard temper in stainless. Now, I have reservations about this for three reasons: