absolute beginner... trying to record vocals

general questions, comments and ideas about recording, audio, music, etc.
zeph
audio school

absolute beginner... trying to record vocals

Post by zeph » Tue May 20, 2003 11:28 pm

ok, hi. i am pretty much an absolute begginer when it comes to recording. i've read tapeop enough to know that you all are quite crafty.. and recording is a very /tricky/ process, but i need something to add to my music to give it more feeling. so i am willing to bear with you if you are willing to bare with my ignorance.

ok.. i recently ordered a mxl v93m large diapraghm condensor mic along with a midiman audio buddy as a preamp. i have an m-audio audiophile 24/96 (this is a total budget setup, i have no money ;p) as a soundcard.

but what i've noticed with this mic is something just is lacking. i've tried different positions (i heard 12-24 inches is normal for vocals), different vocal attack styles but it just doesn't seem to be a very sensitive mic. i've tried it on -10db, i've tried it on 0db. i mean, it can hear things all the way across the room but it doesn't seem to capture the /true/ dynamics of the sounds.. the sound is for the most part lacking of a pristine low and high end.

should i send this thing back and invest in a better mic or do i just need to learn how to use it? and if anyone has any experience with this mic any sort of personal hands-on information would be very much appreciated.

thanks in advance,

zeph [zeph(at)seznam.cz]

I'm Painting Again
zen recordist

Re: absolute beginner... trying to record vocals

Post by I'm Painting Again » Wed May 21, 2003 12:23 am

some times you have to try out a bunch of mics before you find the one for your voice..i dont know the mxl mics at all so i could not comment on them..

if its not sounding the way you like return it if you can..go try some others in a store if possible..