From a musician's perspective...

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

mhuxtable
alignin' 24-trk

From a musician's perspective...

Post by mhuxtable » Wed Apr 04, 2012 7:24 pm

Hey everyone....this is my first post in a long while...

So I'm a musician with a band, playing together for over 2 years...I'm also a recording hobbyist/nerd. We know our sound, we know our style.

Recently, we recorded an EP with a local well known studio run by one guy....he did acts like Hootie and the Blowfish, Craven Melon....lots others. He lives in "slick production" land. Our EP sounds great, but it's too slick. We're a bit more experimental, psychadelic, while still maintaining a "pop" sound...mainly 4 part vocal harmonies.

We are doing a "live" in the studio song/video. Getting to the mixing stage....how should I go about standing my ground in how I want the mix to sound? My idea of "wet" and washed out are WAY different than his. He doesn't seem to get that I don't give a shit about the vocal sitting way out front, or what the "mainstream" listening audience wants to hear....this is my love and my passion and I want it to sound the way I want it to sound....which EVERYONE else who hears us likes.

It's funny because I've read both of the "Behind the Glass" books extensively....so many producers/engineers focus on the song, the feel, the artist, the mood. This guy likes to throw out remarks about his "$5000 microphone" :roll: And whatnot. He definitely has a bit of an ego. Not to mention he sometimes insults us (mainly me)....in a "joking" way but it's really belittling. Then when a session is over, he and his assistant go on and on about how well rehearsed and well prepared we are...

I even want to go back and remix our EP at a different studio just to make things sit more like I want.....then repressing it.