RegisterRegister
Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages
Log inLog in
FAQ  -  SEARCH  -  MEMBERS  -  FAVORITES  -  PROFILE
running a stereo amp in mono?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    Tape Op Message Board Forum Index -> DIY Gear
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
blungo2
buyin' gear


Joined: 23 Jun 2010
Posts: 595
Location: so close to hell you can see sparks

PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2012 1:52 pm    Post subject: running a stereo amp in mono? Reply with quote

I'm sure this is another dumb question, but i have a little 20w t-amp that i would like to power just one of my avantone speakers with. Would it be stoopid to run four wires out of the speaker to run to both channels of the amp, or could i fry the amp, or present it with the wrong kind of load?

Or failing that, would it be bad to have one channel of the amp not driving a speaker? I know tube amps always like to see a load, but i don't know about solid state.

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Scum
dead but not forgotten


Joined: 04 Jul 2003
Posts: 2229
Location: Denver, CO

PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2012 2:20 pm    Post subject: Re: running a stereo amp in mono? Reply with quote

Leaving one channel unused isn't a problem for solid state amps.

The simple version of wiring both channels to one speaker is more likely to cause problems.

If you really want to use both channels, the correct way would be to use "mono bridging." Invert the signal on one channel, and then hang the speaker between the two + terminals, and leave the - terminals disconnected.

Any chance you can post links to specs of said amp?
_________________
"What fer?"
"Cat fur, to make kitten britches."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
vxboogie
pushin' record


Joined: 06 Aug 2008
Posts: 278
Location: OH

PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2012 2:41 pm    Post subject: Re: running a stereo amp in mono? Reply with quote

Running four wires from the speaker is shorting the output of the power amp together and NOT a good thing to even try.

Why are you thinking of doing this? Do you need the extra power? IF the amp will run bridged(as described above), you will essentially double the power, but that only means a 3db increase which is not much louder.
_________________
Mark - Listen, turn knob, repeat as necessary...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blungo2
buyin' gear


Joined: 23 Jun 2010
Posts: 595
Location: so close to hell you can see sparks

PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2012 8:11 pm    Post subject: Re: running a stereo amp in mono? Reply with quote

Thanks for the replies. I'll just run one channel to the speaker.
I just didn't want to harm the amp by having one channel not loaded.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    Tape Op Message Board Forum Index -> DIY Gear All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum