Flashing the Bat-Signal / Posting a lost artist online?

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

alexdingley
buyin' a studio

Flashing the Bat-Signal / Posting a lost artist online?

Post by alexdingley » Sun Apr 15, 2012 8:47 am

Hey all,

So... this might be a grey area these days, but I thought I'd put this out there. About 10 years ago, I was a staff engineer at a studio in Philadelphia where we recorded small & medium size projects. Bands, choirs, etc... That studio is effectively out of business, and didn't have great record keeping.

I recorded a few bands / projects that I'm proud of... one group, in particular, was just wonderful. I listen to their project all the time. They come up in my iTunes at random and it always makes me happy. The trouble is, they clearly disbanded almost immediately after the recording project. Not only do I wish that they'd stayed together and continued to make music.... but I want people to hear their music, and also my recording. Ten years ago, they okay'd me to put clips of their recording in my demo reel... but I have no way of reaching them now. Can't remember last names, no contact info. And there's no myspace music page, just a partially archived geocities page with lyrics and no contact info.

I'm thinking about putting one track of theirs up on my soundcloud page with detailed info expressing that this IS NOT my original work, but a recording I engineered. But there's a part of me that is hesitant to do that because I don't have a copyright.

It actually makes me think that a very interesting thread would be "What's your favorite broken-up artist that you've worked with?... post a clip"

So, what do you guys think? Am I risking any credibility before I even build it?

Snarl 12/8
cryogenically thawing

Post by Snarl 12/8 » Sun Apr 15, 2012 1:43 pm