Anyone graduate SAE in NYC?

Jason151
audio school

Anyone graduate SAE in NYC?

Post by Jason151 » Mon Jan 12, 2004 8:02 pm

I'm 30 years old, live in new york city and thinking about going back to school for audio engineering. I've researched the few schools in the new york city area and i am leaning toward SAE. Anyone care to share their thoughts, advice, stories, etc.?
:?

jason kraut
jasonkraut@aol.com

sarth
ass engineer

Re: Anyone graduate SAE in NYC?

Post by sarth » Mon Jan 12, 2004 11:29 pm

probably shouldn't double post.

andyg666
re-cappin' neve

Post by andyg666 » Mon Sep 13, 2004 8:35 am

I graduated SAE at the top of my class in October of 2002. I found paying work right out of school, but I found it myself and it was a freelance job with hours few and far between. SAE didn't hook me up with an internship until the following February.

I went there before they moved the school to W34th St, and I know they've expanded and upgraded their equipment quite a bit. The education there was pretty good--if you're serious and want to learn. My only complaint was that there was no supervision during the hands-on part of the education. No engineers/teachers in the studio giving pointers while you're doing your projects... There were a lot of kids who wanted to be "produsahs" and make beats--which is cool and i totally respect that--but it definitely slowed things down for those of us who were there to learn engineering for real...

On another note--it is almost impossible to make a living as an engineer right out of school--be prepared to work for free for a few years after you spend $15,000 at SAE...

chrispnyc
audio school graduate

Post by chrispnyc » Mon Sep 13, 2004 10:30 am

Howdy

I went to SAE in NYC for a few months. I didn't graduate because I had to leave the city to the financial burden of life in Manhattan (couldn't bring myself to live in another borrough so I moved back to Chicago).