low ceiling in potential mixing room

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

neonaudio
pluggin' in mics

low ceiling in potential mixing room

Post by neonaudio » Wed Oct 10, 2012 8:52 am

I'm new to the Tape Op Board but I'm a long time reader of the mag. Figured this would be a better resource than some of the more popular audio boards.

Anyway, I'm doing some house hunting and one of the provisions is space for a mixing room. I found a place with a long bonus room built over the garage. It measures 27" x 11", with a low ceiling about 6'10". I'm wondering how much of a problem this low ceiling would be. I've also heard that the long dimension violates the rule of having the length no more than 2x the width, and no dimension being 3x longer than any other.

My current mixing room also has a low ceiling, as far as professional standards go, at 8'3". This yields a problematic peak around 135 Hz, which I've been able to smooth out a bit with a cloud and other treatment. My current room is also square shaped (13.5"x 13.5").

I've gotten some good information from Bryan at GIK Acoustics (where I bought my current treatment), but I was hoping to get some input from folks who have maybe worked in similar rooms. What issues can I expect, and will I be able to resolve them with treatment? Is working in a room with a 6'10" ceiling much different than having a 8'3" ceiling?

For what it's worth, I work with all genres of music and also do audio post for video.

Nick Sevilla
on a wing and a prayer

Post by Nick Sevilla » Wed Oct 10, 2012 9:12 am

It could be ok, as long as you don't listen at high volume levels.
Howling at the neighbors. Hoping they have more mic cables.

dfuruta
re-cappin' neve

Post by dfuruta » Wed Oct 10, 2012 9:42 am

Seems like the lower ceiling would be better than a square shaped room.

Have you looked at the room modes? The new option looks a lot better than your current one.