Internships: Label vs. Studio

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

egr
alignin' 24-trk

Internships: Label vs. Studio

Post by egr » Thu Nov 29, 2012 12:14 pm

My day job work schedule will soon be changed in such a way that I will have 7 days out of every two weeks off. I want to use this time to intern purely as a learning experience (well not purely but I'm not delusional either).

I've read plenty about interning at a studio. Can anybody give a similar type description of what it is like to intern for a label? Major, minor, vanity, whatever level of business you've had experience with would be appreciated.

Thanks!
Datathrash Recordings
http://datathrash.com

egr
alignin' 24-trk

Post by egr » Thu Nov 29, 2012 12:47 pm

Forgot to add: I graduated from college in '98 with a bachelors in Pysics and Math so... I'm probably not qualified for most internships to begin with right?
Datathrash Recordings

fossiltooth
carpal tunnel

Post by fossiltooth » Thu Nov 29, 2012 12:48 pm

Sure! Basically, you work for free, doing an entry-level job that they used to pay people for. Then, they toss you.

...It's kind of a racket. (Although I admit that I am not entirely unbaised: http://trustmeimascientist.com/2012/10/ ... rned-evil/ :) )

If you're A ) doing it for school credit, B ) if they pay minimum wage, or C )if the company really goes out of its way to offer you legitimate training, then it's legal. If they don't do that, then it's not legal. There are currently at least 3 major class action lawsuits regarding this practice that are in the works right now.

Also, from a business standpoint, it's probably high time that the major labels started learning from young people, rather than the other way around. I say skip it, unless you're in school doing it for credit, or if they pay you a reasonable stipend. Just my $.02 there.

fossiltooth
carpal tunnel

Post by fossiltooth » Thu Nov 29, 2012 12:53 pm