What's the distinction between "metal" and "h

Discussion on new albums, developing listening skills, critical listening to others' work, as well as TOMB members' MP3 links, online recording critiques

Moderator: cgarges

Snarl 12/8
cryogenically thawing

What's the distinction between "metal" and "h

Post by Snarl 12/8 » Fri Jan 04, 2013 2:56 pm

Is there a way to decide if a piece of music is metal or hard rock that both Metal afficionados and lay people can agree on? I'm not an expert on all the sub-genres, but I think I'm talking about just straight up, old-school, "heavy metal." I'd give examples, but I'd be embarrassed if I named bands that weren't exactly considered "heavy metal."

Thanks,

PS I really hope this doesn't constitute trolling. This question has really been bugging me lately (my wife, apparently, doesn't think anything is metal.) But I know this could become practically an analog/digital, Windows/Mac, Ford/Chevy, Tube/Solid state kindof shouting match.
Carl Keil

Almost forgot: Please steal my drum tracks. and more.

dfuruta
re-cappin' neve

Post by dfuruta » Fri Jan 04, 2013 3:41 pm

There's not necessarily a clear distinction, especially with classic/heavy metal (as opposed to other metal sub-genres); the lineage is more or less the same, so it's not so easy to pick out specific things.

Classic metal vocals might tend to be more operatic than hard rock, guitar solos are possibly more shredding, and there might be less of an emphasis on groove. Lots of counterexamples to all of those, though!

Are there any marginal bands you were thinking about? Might be easier if there were something specific to talk about.

Nowadays, it seems like tough-guy alt rock and screamo are often conflated with metal.

Bro Shark
re-cappin' neve

Post by Bro Shark » Fri Jan 04, 2013 3:53 pm

Lemme hear the song in question and I'll tell you.

vvv
zen recordist

Post by vvv » Fri Jan 04, 2013 4:26 pm

dfuruta wrote: T