Raising rats. When, and How?

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

Chris_Avakian
steve albini likes it

Raising rats. When, and How?

Post by Chris_Avakian » Sat Mar 09, 2013 11:21 pm

So, ive been recording bands on and off for about 12 years now. i started off with an old soundtech console, an adat, mostly all dynamic mics, and cool edit pro 2.0. one room, actually mixed on p.a. speakers. i was 18, i charged 10 dollars an hour, and it was great! i recorded tons of shitty punk bands, and made some awesome sounding stuff for what i had then.

That was 12 years ago...

since them, ive run live sounds for tons of big name acts, invested tens of thousands of dollars, built a control room. i mean VASTLY superior to my old gorilla days. My skills are better, equipment, environment, Everything has improved dramatically over the years.

Im still charging 10 dollars an hour.

Ive tried to tell people im going to raise my rates, to maybe 15, 20 an hour, but all my clients just throw fits about it. ive tried, and actually lost out on work when trying to raise my rates even to just 15. i feel stuck.

what can i do? just stick to my guns? keep the old rate for long time clients? what?

i feel like my services are worth more than 10 dollars an hour.

I dont know what to do, honestly.

Has anybody been successful in raising their rates? and how do i go about it convince these bands that my time is worth more now than it was 12 years ago, after so much improvement in my skills, gear, etc?

fossiltooth
carpal tunnel

Post by fossiltooth » Sun Mar 10, 2013 1:10 am

You should definitely charge more for your time. You could easily make that much as a barista in many cities, and have a blast making music for fun on the side -- with no investment in the tens of thousands of dollars needed.